Workshop 2011: Energy for Sustainable Science

CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, ERF, the European Association of National Research Facilities, and ESS, the European Spallation Source, organised earlier in 2011 the first Joint Workshop on Energy Management  for Large-Scale Research Infrastructures. The event took place on 13-14 October 2011 at Sparta in Lund, Sweden.

Volatile energy costs, a tight budget climate and increasing environmental concerns are all inciting large-scale research facilities across the globe to develop mid- and long-term strategies aimed at achieving for the future a reliable, affordable and sustainable energy supply that is carbon neutral.

The workshop will bring together international experts on energy and representatives from laboratories and future projects all over the world in order to identify the challenges and best practice in respect of energy efficiency and optimization, solutions and implementation as well as to review the challenges represented by potential future technical solutions and the tools for effective collaboration.

Topics for discussion included:

  • Technical challenges in availability and quality: efficiency and optimization of energy supply, energy recovery, storage and stability
  • Strategic and financial challenges for the future: impact of GRID regulation, investment optimization, procurement strategy
  • Challenges for heat recycling systems and water saving: energy conversion, heat recovery, high-temperature cooling loops 


Presentations from the workshop Energy for Sustainable Science (in PDF format - click on the links)
Andrea Galimberti    
Sincrotrone Trieste Elettra
Catherine Césarsky
Haut Commissaire à l’Energie Atomique
Christoph Richter
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt
Solar Research
Beatrix  Vierkorn-­‐Rudolph
BMBF and Chair of ESFRI
David Findlay
Head, Accelerator Division 
ISIS Department
Rutherford Appleton Laboratory / STFC
Einar Hope
Professor, Norwegian School of Economics, Bergen    
M. Betz, F. Caspers, S. Federmann
Helmut Dosch
Henrik Bindslev
Vice Dean for Research, Aarhus University
EERA Chairman
Jacques Adam
Jean-David Malo
Head of Unit
EC - DG Research and Innovation - Unit C-03 Financial Engineering
Jean-François Bouteille
Jean-Paul Burnet
Jonas Abrahamsson
E.ON Nordic
Kimmo Koski
CSC – Tieteen tietotekniikan keskus Oy
CSC – IT Center for Science Ltd.
Kurt Clausen
Paul Scherrer Institut
Jonas Lindhe - SYDTOTAL
Martin Gierow - Lunds Energi
Michael Kramer
Max-Planck Institute fur Radioastronomie
Michel Pons
Nebojša Nakićenovic
International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis
Technische Universität Wien
Orion  Henderson
Director, Operational Sustainability
University of British Columbia, Canada
Pascal Tixador
Grenoble INP - Institut Néel / G2Elab
Patrick Wagner
Serge Claudet
LHC Cryogenics Operation Team Leader 
Sina Pezeshki
Fraunhofer IWES
Decentralized Energy Management
Tobias Krantz
Minister for Higher Education and Research
Swedish government
Wolfgang Hees
Energy Supply - Challenges
procurement, financing, grid regulations, investment
Chair: Jean-Pierre Caminade
Rapporteur: Keith Jeffery
Heat Recovery
Energy supply - Challenges in future technical solutions
Philippe Lebrun


Download the Executive Summary below.