ESS Governance

ESS is organised as a European Research Infrastructure Consortium, or ERIC, under the European Commission's ERIC legal framework.

European Spallation Source ERIC Council

European Spallation Source ERIC is governed by the European Spallation Source ERIC Council, which is bound by the Statutes ratified by the ERIC Member Countries.
Detailed documentation on the ERIC legal framework can be found on the EC’s website.
The constituting European Spallation Source ERIC Council Meeting was held July 2-3, 2015, where the leadership was appointed, the Council Rules of Procedure were adopted, and the Terms of Reference for all advisory committees were adopted by the Council. The EC's establishment of ESS as an ERIC occured on August 31, 2015, and the transition of ESS from a Swedish limited partnership to an ERIC was completed as of October 1, 2015.

Appointed Leadership

The Director General of European Spallation Source ERIC is John Womersley and the Chair of the European Spallation Source ERIC Council is Prof. Lars Börjesson.


The committees established by the ERIC Council, including the Administrative and Finance Committee (AFC), In-Kind Review Committee (IKRC), Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) and Technical Advisory Committee (TAC), will serve as advisors to the ERIC Council.

Council Delegates

The European Spallation Source ERIC Council is composed of up to two delegates from each Member Country in addition to a Chairperson appointed by the Council.

ChairLars BörjessonChalmers University of Technology
Vice ChairCaterina PetrilloUniversity of Perugia


Laurent Ghys

Belgian Science Policy Office - BELSPO

BelgiumEric van WalleBelgian Nuclear Research Centre (SCK-CEN)
Czech Republic Ivan WilhelmMinistry of Education, Youth and Sports (MEYS)
Czech RepublicPetr Lukáš

Nuclear Physics Institute

DenmarkBo SmithDanish Ministry of Higher Education & Research 
DenmarkRobert FeidenhanslUniversity of Copenhagen
EstoniaToivo RäimMinistry of Education & Research
EstoniaPriit TammEstonian Research Council
FranceAmina Taleb-IbrahimiInstitute of Physics CNRS
FrancePatricia Roussel-ChomazFrench Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission CEA
GermanyBeatrix Vierkorn-RudolphFederal Ministry of Education & Research
GermanySebastian SchmidtResearch Centre GmbH Jülich
HungaryLaszlo Rosta MTA Wigner Research Centre for Physics
HungaryIstván SzabóNational Research, Development & Innovation Office
ItalyEugenio NappiNational Institute of Nuclear Physics (INFN)
ItalySalvatore La RosaMinistry of Education, Universities & Research
NorwayBjørn JacobsenThe Research Council of Norway
PolandMarek JezabekThe Henryk Niewodniczanski Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kraków
PolandMateusz GaczyńskiMinistry of Science & Higher Education
SpainInmaculada R. FigueroaMinistry of Economy and Competitiveness
SpainJosé Luis MartínezESS-Bilbao
SwedenDavid EdvardssonMinistry of Education & Research
SwedenSven StafströmThe Swedish Research Council
SwitzerlandMartin KernState Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation SERI
SwitzerlandJoël MesotPaul Scherrer Institute PSI
The NetherlandsTBD 
The NetherlandsH.T. (Bert) WolterbeekDelft University of Technology - TUDelft
United KingdomAndrew TaylorScience and Technology Facilities Council
United KingdomTBD