ESS Council

Members of the ESS Council and Management at the 36th Council Meeting, December 2023.

ESS is organised as a European Research Infrastructure Consortium, or ERIC, under the European Commission's ERIC legal framework.

Upcoming ESS Council Meetings and reports from meetings held:

Council Meetings

European Spallation Source ERIC Council

The European Spallation Source ERIC is governed by the European Spallation Source ERIC Council, which is bound by the Statutes ratified by the ERIC Member Countries.

The constituting European Spallation Source ERIC Council Meeting was held on 2 & 3 July 2015, where the leadership was appointed, the Council Rules of Procedure were adopted, and the Terms of Reference for all advisory committees were adopted by the Council. The EC's establishment of ESS as an ERIC occurred on 31 August 2015, and the transition of ESS from a Swedish limited partnership to an ERIC was completed as of 1 October 2015.

Read more about the ERIC legal framework and related detailed legal documentation

On 30 June 2023, the ESS Council elected Robert McGreevy of United Kingdom as its Chair and Andrea Fischer of Germany as Vice-Chair.

Appointed Leadership

Since 1 November 2021 the Director General of European Spallation Source ERIC is Helmut Schober. 


The committees established by the ESS Council, including the Administrative and Finance Committee (AFC), In-Kind Review Committee (IKRC), Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) and Technical Advisory Committee (TAC), serve as advisors to the ESS Council.

Delegates to the ESS Council

The ESS ERIC Council is composed of up to two delegates from each Member State, as well as a Chair and Vice-Chair appointed by the Council.

  • Chair
    Robert McGreevy
  • Vice-Chair
    Andrea Fischer 
    Head of Division European Cooperation; Education in the EU Federal Ministry of Education and Research
  • Ondřej Svoboda
    Director, Nuclear Physics Institute of the Czech Academy of Sciences - CAS
    Czech Republic
  • Marek Vyšinka
    Head of Unit for Research Infrastructures, Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports
    Czech Republic
  • Bo Smith
    Danish Ministry of Higher Education & Research
  • Jane Hvolbæk Nielsen
    Technical University of Denmark - DTU
  • Toivo Räim
    Ministry of Education & Research
  • Priit Tamm
    Estonian Research Council
  • Sylvain Ravy
    French National Centre for Scientific Research - CNRS
  • Marie-Hélène Mathon
    French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission - CEA

  • Ralph Dieter
    Federal Ministry of Education & Research
  • Martin Müller
    Helmholtzzentrum Geesthacht
  • Ákos Horvath
    Centre for Energy Research


  • Aldo Covello
    Ministry of Education, Universities, and Research
  • Pierluigi Campana
    National Institute of Nuclear Physics - INFN
  • Odd Ivar Eriksen
    Research Council of Norway
  • Marek Jezabek
    Institute of Nuclear Physics of the Polish Academy of Sciences (IFJ-PAN)
  • Mateusz Gaczyński
    Ministry of Science & Higher Education
  • Ana Maria Aricha Yanguas
    Ministry of Science and Innovation  
  • Adolfo Morais Ezquerro
    Basque Ministry of Universities & Research
  • Viktoria Mattsson
    Swedish Research Council
  • Lars Börjesson
    Chalmers University
  • Xavier Reymond
    State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation - SERI
  • Christian Rüegg
    Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI)
  • Ana Delgado
    Department for Science, Innovation & Technology
    United Kingdom
  • Mark Thomson
    UK Research and Innovation (UKRI)
    United Kingdom