LENS Anniversary Meeting

25 members of the LENS meeting stand in front of a screen in the atrium of the ESS offices
LENS members gather for a meeting to discuss progress and the future.

LENS, the League of Advanced European Neutron Sources, is a joint initiative to strengthen neutron and muon science in Europe.  Today, on the fifth anniversary of the signing of the LENS Charter, over 40 members from the LENS consortium came to Lund for the meeting to bring together members to celebrate the consortium’s achievements to date, and to plan the future direction of the collaboration.

Chair Martin Muller stands next to former chairs Robert McGreevy and Helmut Schober

Chairs past and present: Current LENS chair Martin Müller (from MLZ) stands with previous LENS chairs Robert McGreevy (ISIS) and Helmut Schober (ESS)

Jo Lewis

ESS hosted the meeting and provided talks including from Robert McGreevy, current chair of ESS Council, Thomas Holm-Rod, acting Head of ESS DMSC, and Andreas Schreyer, former Science Director, which all came together to recognise the role LENS has played over the last 5 years in enhancing and strengthening Europe’s neutron science and technology.