ESS Congratulates Lund University Professor Anne L’Huillier for the Nobel Prize in Physics 2023

Anne L’Huillier
Lund University Professor Anne L’Huillier Image: Lund University

The European Spallation Source joins the celebration of the Nobel Prize in Physics awarded to Lund University Professor Anne L’Huillier, Ferenc Kraus (Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, Garching and Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany) and Pierre Agostini (The Ohio State University, Columbus, USA) for experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter.

“The three Nobel Laureates in Physics 2023 are being recognised for their experiments, which have given humanity new tools for exploring the world of electrons inside atoms and molecules. Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L’Huillier have demonstrated a way to create extremely short pulses of light that can be used to measure the rapid processes in which electrons move or change energy.”

Read more about the Nobel Prize in Physics 2023 on the Nobel Prize official website.